Why do I need a license?
Pennsylvania state requirements and qualifications, require individuals to obtain a real estate license to assist in the purchase, sale, rental, or lease of real estate on behalf of anyone other than themselves. The license is issued by the Pennsylvania Department of State and is supervised by the Pennsylvania State Real Estate Commission.
To qualify for a real estate sales license you must be at least age 18 or older, pass the Pennsylvania Real Estate Salesperson Exam, and submit a criminal record check.
What are the Education Requirements?
Real estate sales licensees must hold a high school diploma (or its equivalent) at the time they apply for a license. In addition, you are required to take two courses to be eligible for the PA Real Estate Salesperson state licensing exam. The Real Estate Practice class is 45 hours; the other, Real Estate Fundamentals, is 30 hours. It doesn’t matter which class you start first but you must complete both.
You’ll take one exam per course on the content you studied, and you must pass each course exam with a 70% or higher. Upon completion of both courses (fulfilling all 75 hours) and passing both course exams (with a 70% or higher), you’ll receive your transcript from Polley Associates. Your transcript will allow you to apply and register for the state-administered Pennsylvania real estate license exam with PSI, a national testing company.
Things to Consider
- As of Aug. 28, 2018, the state Legislature implemented a requirement that real estate sales licensees must hold a high school diploma (or its equivalent) at the time they apply for a license. No college degree is necessary.
- If you have a criminal record, in Pennsylvania or another state, you need to be aware the Real Estate Commission may decide on your ability to be licensed only AFTER you have passed the licensing exam. Even then, it considers licensing on a case-by-case basis after reviewing many factors. However, there is a published “Schedule of Criminal Convictions that may Constitute Grounds to Refuse to Issue, Suspend or Revoke a License, Certificate, Registration or Permit.” Click here to visit the PA Real Estate Commission’s published list. Consequently, the Real Estate Commission requires you to have the Pennsylvania State Police conduct a personal criminal background check before your license can be issued. Background checks are good for only 90 days. A fee will be charged, payable by major credit card, and results usually are available within four business days. You can order and pay for one at the “Pennsylvania Access to Criminal History” website.